top of page
Conversations album cover.jpg

01 Moon and Sand
02 How Deep Is The Ocean
03 Spring Is Here
04 You Stepped Out Of A Dream

05 Bemsha Swing Part 1
06 Bemsha Swing Part 2
07 Cry Me A River
08 All The Things You Are
09 La Mesha


“This album is a collection of conversations shared between two friends from different generations, connected by the language of music.”

Despite 50 years of age difference, Kim and Alex grew a bond through their common appreciation and attitude towards music, improvising and the jazz tradition. On regular visits to Kim’s house in Red Beach, the two would listen to records, discuss music, philosophise on spirituality and play together. These visits first began 10 years ago and formed a lasting friendship, continuing during Alex’s returns back to New Zealand after he moved to Europe. This album is so to say a ‘snapshot’ of the musical conversations recorded in Kim’s home during summer 2023, of moments the two felt free to listen, connect and create.

Kim Paterson (1941) is one of New Zealand’s last great jazz legends, of his generation. Active since the 60’s, Kim’s experience, expression and authenticity in the jazz-tradition is a rare encounter these days. In musical comparison, Kim is perhaps the New Zealand Kenny Wheeler or Tom Harrell, carrying depth and flow to his playing as a true master. Working with many notable Australasian jazz figures, such as Bernie McGann, Mike Nock, John Pochee, Kim also lived in the US briefly, and was invited to play along-side Don Cherry, among others.

Alex Ventling (1994) grew up in Auckland, and has lived and worked in Europe since his music degree. He moved permanently to Trondheim, Norway, after completing the European Jazz Masters and is an active part of the Norwegian scene. Alex’ returns to New Zealand have maintained his original musical connections, like among others, Kim Paterson. Alex toured with his European trio across New Zealand in 2020 and tours regularly in Europe with his duo with Phelan Burgoyne and his Wavemakers project.


Alex Ventling - Fender Rhodes

Kim Patterson - Flugelhorn and Trumpet


Recorded at Kim Paterson’s home in Red Beach, New Zealand, January 2023
Mixed and mastered by Eliyah Reichen
Cover artwork by Mareea Paterson

Photograph by Phelan Burgoyne


bottom of page